Tsum Valley

Tsum Valley, well known as ‘Hidden Valley’, is an exclusive trekking destination with patchy vertical routes which is situated at the elevation of 1905m to 5093m in the far-flung northern Gorkha area and is prominent as a sanctified Himalayan pilgrimage gorge.  The valley nuzzles between Himal Chuli and Baudha Himal to the west, Sringi Himal to the north, and Ganesh Himal to the south. The natural beauty, its culture and its acquaintance with Tibet makes this voyage exclusive and exhilarating. The local ethnic tribes of Tsum valley are mainly of Tibetan origin with inimitable language and follow Bon religion. Tsum literally means vivid and is derived from Tibetan word ‘Tsombo’.

Tsum Valley Trek is a lately opened for trekking which was previously a restricted area. The path begins from Arughat and pursues to snaking Budi Gandaki River and attains the initial eminent gorge in order to offer glorious panorama of Sringi Himal, Ganesh Himal and Baudha Himal. Alongside the imposing backdrop of Ganesh Himal and other adjacent mountains, this peaceful valley is affluent in prehistoric sculpture, tradition and belief. The trail is speckled with creative chortens and creased with mani walls that are made of thousands of rock pieces engraved with divinity and prayers. It is believed that Buddhist saint Milarepa meditated in the caves which are located in the mountains of this valley and hence known as a revered and attractive location for the visitors. Tsum valley was an ethnically discrete geographical region named ‘Tsum Tso Chuksum’, that actually means thirteen areas ruled as a solitary terrain.

The antique leftovers of this empire are still evident at present. As a result of its isolation and aloofness, this blessed gorge and its natives have been avoided by typical progress for centuries.


Day 01: Arrive in Kathmandu

Day 02: Kathmandu valley sightseeing

Day 03: Bus drive from Kathmandu to Arughat 535m

Day 04: Arughat to Liding 860m

Day 05: Liding – Machhakhola 930m

Day 06: Machhakhola – Jagat 1440m

Day 07: Jagat -Lokpa 2240m

Day 08: Lokpa – Chumling 2863m

Day 09: Chumling – Chhokangparo 3070m

Day 10: Chhokangparo- Nile

Day 11: Nile Rest Days

Day 12: Nile – MuGompa 3700m. Explore the Monastery and back to Nile.

Day 13: Nile – Chhokangparo

Day 14 Chhokanparo – Chumling

Day 15: Chumling – Filim

Day 16: Filim –Doban

Day 17: Doban- Machhakhola

Day 18: Machhakhola –Liding

Day 19: Liding – Arughat

Day 20: Arughat to Katmandu